Part 1: You know you’re a Westerner in Cambodia when . . .

It takes you at least four times longer than a Cambodian to do labour tasks like shoveling and laying bricks 

shovel

I tried to be useful in helping my friend build a house and his cousin showed me the right shoveling techniques. Needless to say, I was still slow. I’ve seen kids pick up piles of bricks and move them faster than most Western people could. Good thing I’m not building a home in a community.

When you’re moving, you think one layer of stuff covering the moving vehicle is considered full.

moving

When my colleagues and I were moving a bunch of stuff out of the house, the bikes covered one layer of the moving wagon and we thought that was enough for one trip. But our Cambodian friends yelled, “Put more things!” He successfully packed on three more layers of stuff without anything falling off.

One of my friends said, “Only in Cambodia. Westerners will just pay more money to move things a bit at a time but we will try and fit everything in.”

You’re so impressed every time a 14-year-old Cambodian boy changes your flat tire

This is one of several upcoming posts of “You know you’re a Westerner in Cambodia when . . .” If you have other ideas, please email them to melissa.chungfat@gmail.com

One thought on “Part 1: You know you’re a Westerner in Cambodia when . . .

  1. Pingback: Part 2: You know you’re a Westerner in Cambodia when . . . | I'm not a tourist. I'm an adventurer and cultural learner

Leave a Reply

