Living in water

Flooding in the Kampong Cham province.

The past few weeks, tens of thousands of people around the country have been affected by severe flooding from the heavy rains. About 80 people have died so far, including two children who have drowned recently.

Last week I went with one of my friends to see her family in the province of Kampong Cham. A month ago, she said the water was up to their waist. When we visited them the water had thankfully gone down. Many of my friends’ families have water either surrounding their house or up to their knees inside the house. This is unfortunately something families have to deal with every year.

When I was taking the taxi to a village 60 km outside of Siem Reap city, I could see the green rice fields on one side of the road while the other side looked like a lake that has been in existence for a long time. One of my friends had a flooded house when she arrived back home and she laughed and said, “I will catch fish for my home.” Around the villages, many children and families are also enjoying swimming and playing in the water.

When I biked around Siem Reap a few days ago, there were parts of the road with water as high as our wheels. People simple walk, motto or cycle through it to get around.

I’m sending good thoughts and wishes for all the families who have been affected.

 

DSC_0237

Siem Reap city

 

2 thoughts on “Living in water

    • Hi, I hope your family is doing ok with the heavy rains and that the levels go down soon. It’s horrible for people who have water in their home. Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

