Canyoning in Mauritius

 

DSC01749I’ll be honest. The first time I heard the word canyoning in my home island-country Mauritius, I thought it meant that people swang on a rope between two cliffs.

When my cousin took me canyoning at Les 7 Cascades, I discovered that we would be repelling down a cliff beside a waterfall 25 meters down. Les 7 Cascades means “seven waterfalls” and there are many local and international visitors who visit the area for trekking.

It’s recommended to go with a guide or a local who knows the route very well because it’s quite easy to get lost. If you can afford it, you can get a group of four to share a guide and it’s about 1600 rupees per person without lunch or 1900 rupees with lunch.

Our guide Oliver was great and he explained how to use the canyoning equipment very well. He first gave us wetsuits since we would be going in water. He gave us a good training session on how to repel down the rope properly and how to also be the safety person.

Les 7 Cascades has the best views and landscape around Mauritius and I highly recommend making a visit here if you appreciate our dear Mother Nature.

The hardest part was actually at the beginning where you are just clipping on the cliff and you can see the right to the ground. Repelling down is easier and the more fun part. We did about 45 minutes of walking and trekking to get from one point to another.

Our training session on how to use the ropes and clips.

Oliver guiding us from the top of the cliff.

Getting used to the ropes and walking at the top is probably the scariest part of the whole experience.

Jon just hangin’.

Our training session on how to use the ropes and clips.

Checking out the view without falling.

Our guide Oliver enjoying himself while repelling down.

After we repelled down the first waterfall, we had the option to cliff jump 6 meters into the water. I’m a pretty adventurous person but cliff jumping scares me quite a bit. I had to push myself to do it. I always believe in pushing yourself in challenging situations. Once you start, you’re committed and there’s no turning back. Three of us made the leap and jumped.

A fantastic view by the waterfall.

The landing.

 

DSC00452

My cousin Jon with his son, me, and his daughter-in-law. They were visiting Mauritius from Australia.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Canyoning in Mauritius

    • Yes definitely do next time. Where are you located? I just took a peak at your blog, it’s very fascinating! I met a Mauritian guy who knows all of the mountains trails in Mauritius, I’m committing to hiking at least once a week.

Leave a Reply

