The 1.5-year journey has been extended

Mauritius is changing at a faster pace with new malls (not my preference) and this newly built highway.

As of today I’m changing the name of my blog to “Live and love life from “1.5 years exploring Asia and the return to Delicious Mauritius.” I have officially completed my 1.5 years of volunteering and exploring Southeast Asia and visiting family in Mauritius, a small island-country oh the southeast coast of Africa where I was born.

But my journey is nowhere near over.

While I was in Mauritius I had my little freak out and I wasn’t ready to go back to Vancouver yet. I almost said, “Go back home” but now I feel like I have another home and that’s in Siem Reap, Cambodia. Many travelers I’ve met found new homes in other countries and have also had a hard time returning to their home countries.

I met a friend randomly at a community event and she took me to her hometown in Banteay Meanchey, 2 hours away from Siem Reap, to meet her family for a few days.

While my parents are still healthy, I told myself in Mauritius, “I’ll apply for a few jobs that look really interesting in Cambodia. If I don’t get any of the jobs, it’s not meant to be and I’ll get work in Vancouver.” I thought my chances would be relatively low because even if I got an offer, I’d have to wait almost two months to start because I was going to Vancouver to see my family and friends.

After two hours and applying to three positions, I got a reply from one of the jobs the next day to arrange a Skype interview. After a good conversation, I ended up getting a position as a marketing executive for a travel company.

I’m very happy to be going back to Siem Reap for a little bit longer and where life goes from there is uncertain but that’s ok and being open is half of the fun. A few of my good friends now are applying for positions outside of Vancouver because the world has many more possible paths than the place we grew up.

Follow your heart and discover your passions.

 

3 thoughts on “The 1.5-year journey has been extended

Leave a Reply

