Phai San BBQ: My favourite street restaurant in Siem Reap

P9273106

I first met my friends Phai and San, who are married, in 2013 when their restaurant was next to 9 other restaurants by Sivatha Road in SIem Reap. After ignoring all of the people who were hollaring for tourists to eat at their restaurants, my friend and I finally caved and decided to try Phai San. And we have been good friends ever since.

Not only is all of their food delicious at amazing prices (between $1.25 to $3.00 US), the couple is extremely generous and hospitable with their staff and guests. Phai San also happens to make my favourite stir-fried vegetable yellow noodle and I find it tastier than anywhere else I’ve been around Cambodia.

I was surprised when Phai told me that even when he is not making a profit, he pays his staff double the average Cambodian salary because he wants to give them a fair wage. He said, “One of my staff is having baby, so I want to pay her more.” When they invited me to their home town south of Cambodia, of course I didn’t expect them to pay any of my costs. But they offered to pay for my boat ride to San’s village, which I was very touched by. I spent three days with their family who hosted me so generously.

I’m always happy to support local Cambodian businesses that provide great service, delicious food and are run by very honourable people. If you’ve had a good experience at their restaurant, please write a review on Trip Advisor.

2 thoughts on “Phai San BBQ: My favourite street restaurant in Siem Reap

  1. I had the best food in this restaurant too. Can recommand the rice and vegetables which come in the pinapple – just delicious!
    And this was also the place where I first met lovely Meesa 🙂 !

    • Yes that’s right, if I didn’t become friends with Phai San I wouldn’t have also met Kathy for two nights in Siem Reap and ended up flying to Indonesia to visit for two weeks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

