Olive, Cuisine de Saison: My best meal in Siem Reap

olive

I’ve tried the full range of food in the 11 months I’ve been in Siem Reap from my fresh street baguette to five-course meals in higher-end restaurants in town. I don’t care what the price is, but anyone who dines out a lot knows that paying more money doesn’t necessarily mean better flavour. I always come back to a restaurant ultimately because of the flavour.

I had cousins in town for six days in Siem Reap and I have been very disappointed with our US $15 to $26 meals in restaurants for their bland and unmemorable taste. I’d rather have just gone to one of my good friend’s street restaurants and have bought my favourite stir-fried yellow noodle for $1.50 and I would have been more satisfied.

10448740_10152474465893441_5557682422607273099_n

But when I tried Olive, Cuisine de Saison for the first time I was immediately blown away by the flavours, timing of the food and professionalism of the staff. They probably have one of the most well-trained staff in Siem Reap.

So far I have tasted the wild mushroom soup, which the staff kindly substituted meat for a pasta (US $6), the seabass and risotto (US$12) and the caramelized banana and ice cream (I can’t remember the price). Even the complimentary bread was superbly done by toasting the outside just enough to be crisp while maintaining the soft texture inside.
10488140_10152474465948441_7635555804738089578_n

The portions are great and the fish could easily be shared between two people. When I took a bite of my friend’s dessert and it was the best whipping cream I’ve ever had in my life! The flavour of the ice cream was very unique too.

My cousin thought the chef was French but he’s actually Cambodian and the food is consistently on time and well executed. I will most certainly be coming back with my friends on a regular basis.

 

 

Leave a Reply

